SBL draws nigh

…so I need some guidance from you more experienced SBLers.

  1. I am going to try and pack as lightly as possible, but what do you all bring with you? Besides clothes and toiletries, do you really need anything else if you aren’t presenting?
  2. I’m 6’5″ tall–where should I try and sit on the plane? I haven’t flown in a while, so I really don’t know where the best seat might be.
  3. I’ll be staying downtown, so I don’t plan to travel outside the SBL radius. Is this what most people do? If you do travel around, is it best to get a MARTA pass of some sort?
  4. I imagine the book hall to be pretty much a heavenly place, so I will have to exercise extreme restraint when it comes to buying books. Any advice here?
  5. I’ve narrowed the sessions I want to attend by presenter rather than the topic, though I kept a couple of sessions on the schedule because the subject interests me. How much time do you spend in the sessions themselves typically?
  6. Even though I’m almost ABD, I plan to attend the career workshops. I know that the job field is overrun by more qualified folks than myself, but I’m going to attend and meet various prospective employers, if for no other reason than to get a feel of the process. How should someone in my position approach this element of SBL? If you’re not interviewing, is there is suggested attire? Business casual? Since I’ll be walking, I’ll need to wear comfortable shoes, so that will determine in part my attire for my time there.
  7. I’m not ashamed to admit that I love getting free stuff–especially books! Any goodies I should be on the lookout for?

3 thoughts on “SBL draws nigh

  1. The exits rows seats usually have more leg room, but there are two drawbacks: they tend to be a little more expensive and some of them do not recline.

    Since you are traveling by plane you will be limited on how many books you can purchase anyway. For many publishers the sales continue after the conference, so you can take the catalogs and order forms home and order the books more at your leisure.

    You will learn that trying to attend every session will be wearying. People tend to come and go even during the sessions. They often do not stay for an entire session. Personally, I choose sessions based on the topics and not on the presenters.

    Many booths have raffle give-aways, so look for them. Bring some business cards to put in the raffle jars.

    1. Thanks for your thoughts, Brian. Others have suggested the same, so it looks like I’ll try my best to get an exit row seat. As for the books, I think I’ll do my best to follow your advice. I don’t need baggage fees on the way home just so I can have the books immediately. I have other pressing matters degree wise to attend to, so I won’t be doing any extra reading immediately anyway!

Leave a Reply

