From Faith to Faith

I was reading through Romans 1 earlier and was curious how you out there interpret the phrase ἐκ πίστεως εἰς πίστιν. I haven’t read through commentaries or works on Romans lately, so I don’t recall what the prevailing interpretation is (if one is even more dominant than others).

Here’s the whole verse:

δικαιοσύνη γὰρ θεοῦ ἐν αὐτῷ ἀποκαλύπτεται ἐκ πίστεως εἰς πίστιν, καθὼς γέγραπται· ὁ δὲ δίκαιος ἐκ πίστεως ζήσεται.

I tend to see this as Paul suggesting a continuity of God’s revealing of his righteousness–from the age of Moses (or the giving of the Mosaic law) to the new age inaugurated at the Christ event.

What say you?

Αυτω η δοξα

4 thoughts on “From Faith to Faith

  1. Like you, I haven’t dealt with Romans in a while. So, I might sound like a total idiot in saying this. But my first reaction is to see the remark as extending further back than Moses and landing at Abraham. I say that in part because of Paul’s argument in Gal 3, where Abraham is paragon of righteoused by faith, and because of the emphasis given to Abraham in Romans. Thus, faith to faith is Old Covenant (with Abraham) to New Covenant (with Christ).

  2. Carl: Good point; I didn’t even think of Abraham. With Galatians 3 and Romans 4, Paul would be telescoping Heilsgeschichte with the concept of faith as a primary element.

  3. I typically think of it as referring to “from faith (of Jesus as demonstrated in the gospel message) for faith (as the response of the Judeans and Greeks who hear it).

    In my mind this makes sense of “those who believe” in Romans 1:16.

Leave a Reply

