My Very Tentative SBL Schedule

Being my first experience at an SBL annual meeting, I want to get the most out the expense to attend. Having perused the program, here is my very tentative session schedule.

Saturday, Nov. 21

Annual Meeting Orientation, 8:15 AM to 9:00 AM

John’s Apocalypse and Cultural Contexts Ancient and Modern, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM

or

Bible, Myth, and Myth Theory, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM

John’s Apocalypse and Cultural Contexts Ancient and Modern, 1:00 PM to 3:30 PM

or

Pauline Epistles, 1:00 PM to 3:30 PM

Ancient Fiction and Early Christian and Jewish Narrative; Bible, Myth, and Myth Theory, 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Employment Workshops, 4:00 PM to 6:30 PM (will likely leave the aforementioned session early)

Sunday, Nov. 22

Rhetoric and the New Testament, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Pauline Epistles, 1:00 PM to 3:30 PM

Monday, Nov. 23

Paul Within Judaism, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM

I’m sure some things will change between now and November. I probably won’t stay for the entirety of each session, but only for the papers I’m interested in and probably some of the discussion times. Of course, I plan to wander the book hall, talk with folks concerning future employment, and attend various receptions and mingle. I’ll be leaving Monday afternoon so I can be back for work Tuesday.

Looking forward to the experience!

Αυτω η δοξα

Leave a Reply

