On Phobias

I don’t have many phobias (thankfully!), but one of the few is captured here by Stephen Asma in his book On Monsters: An Unnatural History of Our Worst Fears:

Ever since I was a small boy I’ve had a phobia about deep murky water, or more accurately, a fear of what might be living in such waters. A seemingly harmless swim in a weedy lake sends my imagination into overdrive and I can almost see the behemoths and leviathans rising up to gnaw off my extremities.

Precisely why I cringe at the thought of getting into water in which I cannot see beneath me!

Αυτω η δοξα

2 thoughts on “On Phobias

Leave a Reply

