Twenty Years Ago

It’s hard to believe that it’s been twenty years–twenty years since I trusted Christ for salvation. I still remember the events/circumstances that led up to that decision with great clarity. The sense I got that God was drawing me to Himself was virtually palpable–not a physical feeling necessarily, but a very real and very strong sense that I needed to be reconciled with Him. Looking back over these years as I have grown theologically, I have a better understanding as to how that whole “process” works; yet, much of God’s work of redemption remains mysterious and I wouldn’t change that a bit.

At the risk of sounding cliché, I will say that I really can’t imagine what life would be like if God had not saved me. While I wasn’t the most reckless of sinners, I often think of how things might have turned out had God not intervened and it’s not always a pleasant thought. Thankfully we don’t live in the hypothetical and I am grateful beyond words for God’s infinite love, grace, and mercy. I hope to have many more years of experiencing His goodness!

I am also glad to say that it was one year and one day ago that our daughter also professed faith in Christ, so I rejoice for her as well!

God has been so good, especially in the hard times and I can’t imagine life any other way! Thank you, Lord, for your goodness to us!

Αυτω η δοξα

Leave a Reply

