Book Review: True for You but Not For Me

True for You but Not For Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith by Paul Copan

Bethany House ǀ Amazon ǀ CBD

Thanks to the folks at Bethany House for this review copy!

I must admit from the start that I don’t typically enjoy reading apologetics and this book didn’t change that. That’s not necessarily a critique of the book, but of my own disposition toward the subject. Essentially, God needs no defenders; yet, the value in being able to dialogue with skeptics of varying stripes can’t be understated. So, I requested this book to see what he had to say about the multitude of objections that still being leveled against Christianity so that, in the event that I find myself in conversation with someone making these assertions, I might be better able to understand their position and respond appropriately.

Copan covers a broad range of typical objections to Christianity one might encounter. As I read through the chapters, some of them only a few pages long, I found myself treading very familiar territory. That is to say, Copan doesn’t really say anything that hasn’t been said before. There is nothing particularly novel here, but that doesn’t mean the book isn’t helpful. It can be that, if one has not read widely on the subject. As I mentioned above, the reason I requested this book was more or less to reacquaint myself with some of the objections that may be raised in discussion of Christianity. It’s a helpful little volume and should I need a quick reference, it will serve me well. To that end, I would recommend this title to you. For those who live and breathe the subject, they will definitely want to swim in deeper waters.

Αυτω η δοξα

Leave a Reply

