Favorite Christmas Songs

Brian LePort posted yesterday asking about everyone’s favorite and most disliked Christmas hymns. Well, since I’m obviously not as pious and holy as Brian, I thought I’d post some of my favorite Christmas and seasonal favorites.

Wizards in Winter by Trans-Siberian Orchestra (you know, the house with the lights synced with the music?)

O Come Emmanuel by Folk Angel (popularized by A Social Network Christmas) and the instrumental version by August Burns Red

For those who don’t know, August Burns Red has for the last few years released a version of popular Christmas songs that have been run through the ABR filter. My favorite of these is their version of Carol of the Bells. They’ve also done renditions of Little Drummer Boy and God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (which is quite good, especially the dual guitars toward the end).

I also love O Holy Night and this version by Andrea Bocelli is simply magnificent (it’s Bocelli–should we expect anything else? And, it’s sung in French)!

Oh, how could I not include You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch?!?

I could name others, but these are some of my favorites. What about you–what do you like?

Αυτω η δοξα

One thought on “Favorite Christmas Songs

Leave a Reply

