Citations

I like to be proper and formal in how I cite works and list them in the bibiography. One series that I’ve seen cited a number of ways is the Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zum Neuen Testament series published by Mohr Siebeck. I’ll use a volume I’m currently using in research for a paper as an example. It’s Deuteronomy and Exhortation in Hebrews by David Allen. So, how would you cite it? Here are a few ways I’ve seen this series done.

Allen, David M. Deuteronomy and Exhortation in Hebrews: A Study in Narrative Re-presentation. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zum Neuen Testament 238. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2008.

Allen, David M. Deuteronomy and Exhortation in Hebrews: A Study in Narrative Re-presentation. WUNT. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2008.

Allen, David M. Deuteronomy and Exhortation in Hebrews: A Study in Narrative Re-presentation. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zum Neuen Testament 2. Reihe 238. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2008.

The SBL Handbook of Style (51) uses the first example, so I go with that one. Do you do it differently? If so, how?

Αυτω η δοξα

 

3 thoughts on “Citations

  1. I’ll give you an example of how I cite the same book in (1) a bibliography, and (2) a footnote:

    Fatehi, Mehrdad. The Spirit’s Relation to the Risen Lord in Paul: An Examination of Its Christological Implications. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zum Neuen Testament. Second series 128. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2000.

    Mehrdad Fatehi, The Spirit’s Relation to the Risen Lord in Paul: An Examination of Its Christological Implications (WUNT II/128; Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2000).

    I read a book (Sean M. McDonough’s Christ as Creator) that consistently referred to the series as “Wissunt zum Neuen Testament” in the footnotes and bibliography, and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why. I suppose it might be an accepted abbreviation, but I haven’t seen it anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

