The Revised English Bible

I’d not read the REB before. Having read a few comments here or there by Jim West and his adoration of this translation, I procured a copy and have only now begun to peruse it. I began in John 1:1 and I must say that I really like the way they word this important verse. It reads

In the beginning the Word already was. The Word was in God’s presence, and what God was, the Word was.

Many English bibles have tended to end up with almost identical translations of this verse (not a bad thing) so I found this rendering quite nice. It certainly captures the emphasis of the text and words it so that the theological truth is aptly communicated. I look forward to reading more in this translation and I’ll be sure to post any gems or lumps of coal I may encounter.

Buy the REB @ Amazon here.

Αυτω η δοξα

2 thoughts on “The Revised English Bible

Leave a Reply

