The Human One

The CEB has made a rather unforeseen (at least by me) splash in the sea of translations since its recent inception and publication. The CEB is, from what reading I have done, a very accurate and readable translation. While some have expressed dismay with some of the translators’ decisions (I’ve seen a thing or two here or there that I didn’t care for), I’ve found it to be quite enjoyable to read. One particular issue over which there has been some discussion (don’t have the links handy) is the rendering of ὁ υἱὸς τοῦ ἀνθρώπου as “the Human One.”

I’ll admit that it was a bit strange to read/hear this, but it’s most likely because I’d always heard it rendered “son of man.” The folks at the CEB’s blog explain their decision in the upcoming preface to the CEB. You can read it here.

Αυτω η δοξα

 

Leave a Reply

