Quotation Marks

One of the monographs I’ve been reading as part of my research for this semester is by Wojech Szypuła, entitled The Holy Spirit in the Eschatological Tension of Christian Life: An Exegetico-Theological Study of 2 Corinthians 5, 1-5 and Romans 8, 18-27. It was published in Rome by Gregorian University Press. There was something quite strange, though, I encountered in this work: a way of quoting I had not seen prior. Instead of using traditional quotation marks (“”), he uses double arrows. Here is a quote to illustrate:

One cannot speak about the salvation of humankind without Christ because <<in Jesus [and only in Jesus, cf. Acts 4, 12], God recapitulates all of his history of salvation on behalf of men>>.

Is this a stylistic preference or maybe a regional thing? It was odd to me so I thought I’d see if anyone knew if this was common practice elsewhere or one of the author’s idiosyncrasies.

Αυτω η δοξα

5 thoughts on “Quotation Marks

  1. That’s how they do it in Spanish books. They’re called comillas angulares. I think the French might do them like that too but I’d have to pull out the one book in French that I have to check and I’m too lazy to do that right now. Interestingly enough, Convivium Press employs comillas angulares in their English translations of Spanish books.

  2. Nick: Thanks for the info. Now that you mention it, this was the case in a commentary by a French scholar I was reading recently, so that makes sense. It’s a bit of distraction for me, just because I’ve not encountered it before. Do you know why exactly they prefer this over standard quotation marks?

  3. If I remember correctly this comes from a German method of quotations. You see it frequently in Migne’s Patrology Graeca, as well as certain critical aparati like Göttingen.

  4. Indeed; in my recent article in ZAW (a German journal published by de Gruyter) all of my quotation marks are not ” but >>TEXT<< . Other countries do things differently.

Leave a Reply

