Miscellany

Well, as you have probably noticed (or maybe you didn’t), I’ve been rather absent of late in the blogosphere.  Partly because of school, church (we’re in revival now), and usual family activities, and partly because I’ve not been feeling terribly well. But I thought I’d post a few things just for the sake of posting.

Mark is still lamenting the the demise of the TNIV (is a dirge in order?), so to commemorate that bible that changed God’s words, he’s giving away a copy or two that he found in a trash pile on sale at the local bookstore. Winners apparently will be chosen from both the boring (like me) and the interesting entrants. Should be fun!

I’ve received/picked up a few books over the last week. I received a copy of Images of Salvation in the New Testament by Brenda B. Colijn (compliments of the kind folks at IVP) and it looks like a very interesting read.

I’ve also received word that I will be receiving a review copy of the new HCSB Study Bible. I have been preaching from the HCSB for several years now and I really like it, so I am excited to check out the new study bible. Likewise, I will also be receiving a copy of Larry Hurtado’s God in New Testament Theology from Abingdon Press. Hurtado is a great writer and consummate scholar, so this book should be quite good.

I received my order from Eisenbrauns. Because I know you want to be reminded, that order consisted of From Prophecy to Testament: The Function of the Old Testament in the New, edited by Craig Evans, and New Testament Theology: Magnifying God in Christ by Thomas Schreiner.

We stopped by Half-Price Books yesterday and browsed for a bit. There were a number of volumes I really wanted (by Brevard Childs and Claus Westermann), but they were $25-30 apiece, too much to buy used. I did pick up a couple of other volumes, though. I found Gerhard von Rad’s commentary on Genesis in the Old Testament Library for $5, so I couldn’t pass it up. Sure, it is tattered and highlighted throughout (ghastly, I know!), but von Rad is an important voice even now in OT studies, so I snagged it. I also got a copy of More Light on the Path: Daily Scripture Readings in Hebrew and Greek. I’ve wanted this book for years, but never bought it. So, when I saw it yesterday for nearly 1/3 of the retail price (and it’s in pristine condition), I couldn’t not buy it!  I don’t read devotionally (there go a few stars in my crown!), so this is as close to such as I would get. I like it because of the selection of Hebrew and Greek readings, along with a short devotional thought related to the verses chosen. I look forward to reading through this regularly.

Ok, this post is long enough.  Until next time…

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

3 thoughts on “Miscellany

  1. Nick: I got Hurtado’s book today in the mail. It’s a rather thin volume (especially compared to the biblical theology volume by Perdue and co.), but it’s Hurtado, so I am sure it’s good.

Leave a Reply

