The Burden of Choice

As I posted the other day, I won the Most Boring Book Title contest that was held at Doug Mangum’s blog.  My burden now, of course, is what to spend the gift certificate on.  Nick seems to have this dilemma on occasion, so he can feel my pain!  I’ve actually narrowed my primary selections down to a few NT theology texts (and one Pauline theology):

Theology of the New Testament: A Canonical and Synthetic Approach by Frank Thielman

New Testament Theology: Magnifying God in Christ by Thomas Schreiner

New Testament Theology: Many Witnesses, One Gospel by I. Howard Marshall

Apostle Paul: His Life and Theology by Udo Schnelle

Any one of these texts will not exhaust the gift certificate, so I have a few secondary texts in mind, too.  But on these listed, which ones have you read (if any) and what did you think?  Which would you recommend?

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Burden of Choice

  1. Marshall is good. I’ve heard that Schreiner is better than Thielman. Evans’ book is a great resource to have but I wouldn’t pay as much for Aune’s book as any retailer wants (not even if I had a gift certificate). I’ve had my eye on Schnelle for a while but if Esteban says he’s tedious then I guess he must be!

    Oh, and your conscience must be seared sir — linking to WTS when you just won a gift certificate from Eisenbrauns! For shame!😉

  2. Esteban: Both Schreiner and Beale are favorites of mine, so I just may end up going that route.

    Nick: I have several of Schreiner’s books and have listened to many of his sermons, so I am naturally inclined to his style (and theology). And yes, I am overwhelmed with guilt for selfishly linking to WTS titles (I am ever so close to another gift certificate!). I repent in sackcloth and ashes, and may James forgive me!🙂

  3. Out of those ones you listed I would get the volume by Marshall.

    That book you linked to by Aune on magic is something I have wanted for a while. Though it is only $23 for a new copy on amazon.

  4. I am currently reading through Thielman and it is excellent for a mid-range biblical theology of the NT (725pp, does not require knowledge of Greek). However, I am a little dissapointed in its depth. Don’t get me wrong, it is a worthy resource, but I would look for something a little more advanced. Let me know what you think of Schreiner’s volume if you go that route.

  5. Brian: It’s probable that I will get Schreiner’s volume just because I like his other books so much. Time permitting, I may post a few thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

