Book Giveaway

Well, this is only the second one in the history of this blog, but it’s time for another giveaway! Like the first giveaway I did, I ended up with a duplicate copy of a book I requested for review. This title will not likely appeal to as many as the last one did, but I don’t need two, so if you’re interested, here’s how to enter.

Very simply, comment as many times as you like on this post and I will draw a winner at random. Obviously, every comment equals one chance to win. I will keep this giveaway going until Thursday, October 14.

Now, the book.

It’s entitled The Lure of the Dark Side: Satan and Western Demonology in Popular Culture and was edited by Christopher Partridge and Eric Christianson. Here’s the synopsis:

Personifications of evil in the form of demons, devils, spirits, vampires, and other malign entities can be found across the popular cultural spectrum. One only has to peruse the shelves of music and bookstores or view the content of some of the most successful films and television series to discover evidence for the phenomenal popular fascination with the demonic other. However, rather surprisingly, this is not an area in which much research has been done.

This volume examines the demonic foil within popular culture. Its brings together an international team of some of most important and creative scholars in the areas of Biblical Studies, Religious Studies, and Christian Theology currently exploring the religious significance of popular culture.

Like I said, this is a very unusual topic and I requested it because it sounded interesting. Given the surge in interest in vampires and such in recent years, perhaps this book could shed some light on the subject. So, if it is something you would like to add to your library, enter away!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason


423 thoughts on “Book Giveaway

  1. I’m not interested in the book so don’t enter me in the contest, but I wanted to simply voice my dissatisfaction with the whole “enter as many times as you want” enterprise, I hate it! I don’t expect you to change anything because I hate it, but I will just say that you can still pick at random with only one entry per contestant.

  2. Andrew: I’ve not read it yet, but I will in due time and post my review then.

    Nick: No dissenting comments allowed here!😉 Now that we’ve had an airing of grievances, it’s time for the feats of strength!!!🙂

  3. You know what, I don’t think just posting a lot of times like I’ve been doing is really accomplishing anything. So I’m just going to say now that I’d like to win this book because I’m fascinated by the topic, and the title just makes it sound even better.

Leave a Reply

