Verbal Aspect

I want to buy a book that focuses specifically on the concept of verbal aspect. I’ve read the treatments in the stack of Greek grammars on my shelf, but they are minimal forays into the subject. I remember when Constantine Campbell’s Basics of Verbal Aspect in Biblical Greek came out that I wanted to get a copy, but never did. Has anyone read it and, if so, would you recommend it?

Of course, I would love to get a copy of Buist Fanning’s volume or Stanley Porter’s on the subject, but I am not going to break the bank to do so!

Any other recommendations?

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

4 thoughts on “Verbal Aspect

  1. Jason,
    Campbell’s intro book is great if you did not have any aspect theory in your Greek grammar, but I thought you went to DTS, so you could probably go after Campbell’s other Peter Lang volumes: Verbal Aspect, the Indicative Mood, and Narrative: Soundings in the Greek of the New Testament and Verbal Aspect and Non-Indicative Verbs: Further Soundings in the Greek of the New Testament. They are about $35 each. I am not an expert but these two from Campbell seems to be more nuanced and contextally than Porter, and for me way easier to understand.

  2. Mike: Thanks for the suggestion–I’ll definitely look into it!

    Daniel: I’ve had some exposure in Greek class, but not sufficiently. I am currently attending DTS, but did my M.Div. at New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. I think if I had done my grad work at DTS, I would be much more versed in verbal aspect. I’ll definitely look into the other volumes from Campbell–thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

