The More I Study the Bible: Εις Δοξαν Edition

Kevin (at Diglotting) recently posted about his study of Scripture moving him more to the “liberal” side of the spectrum, politically and theologically. I’ll stay away from the political, but thought I would offer my take on the positions which Kevin mentioned.

  • I hold to exclusivism (as opposed to inclusivism).
  • I believe in the orthodox view of hell, insofar as that view espouses hell as a state of eternal separation. I am not altogether certain if the lake of fire is literal or figurative, but ultimately it doesn’t matter—the horror of hell, in my mind, is the soul-piercing agony of hopelessness. 
  • I am about 99% convinced that evolution is false, but I wouldn’t hold this as a requisite for orthodoxy. I am no scientist, so for most on the other side my opinions will matter little. Nevertheless, I have more than a few hang-ups with evolution—theistic or otherwise. 
  • I believe in the inerrancy of the Bible if one defines it along the lines that the biblical authors accurately communicated that which they were inspired to record. I believe that they wrote in their own style and under the influence of their culture, all the while being carried along by the Holy Spirit.
  • I do not hold to young-earth creationism, but do believe in creation ex nihilo. As I’ve mentioned here and elsewhere, I find John Walton’s articulation of “creation” in Genesis 1 to be most compelling.
  • Eschatologically, I am inclined toward historical premillenialism. This, however, is usually in a state of flux!
  • I hold to the penal substitutionary model of the atonement because I simply cannot get around the language of payment/transaction that is employed in atonement texts. 
  • On the rapture, see above comment on eschatology!
  • Concerning Augustine’s view of original sin, well, I seem to be on the fence. I’ll get back to you on that one!

While, this is not a meme, I would be interested in reading others’ snapshots of theology!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

12 thoughts on “The More I Study the Bible: Εις Δοξαν Edition

  1. You and I are in complete DISagreement! Well, not exactly. Sort of. Ok, we are. Maybe. (Do you sense my equivocation?). If you ever want to discuss these issues–which I would find interesting–we should do it at a regional or national SBL. Far easier that way.

  2. I would mostly be in agreement…only taking exception with your rejection of a “recent creation” (which is certainly relative) and support of John Walton’s proposals (which I am largely interacting with and critiquing in my Thesis which will be finished sometime this coming winter). Also, I’m not really on the fence about Augustine. 🙂

  3. John: WHAT?!? You could knock me over with a feather! 😉 Should the opportunity come, I’d love to discuss these things with you, maybe even topics outside the realm of Scripture (except wrestling!). I plan to attend some of the regional meetings in the future, so maybe we’ll cross paths. But then I’ll have to call you Dr. Anderson! 🙂

    Rick: Ah, I’d love to hear your thoughts on Walton’s proposals (assuming it’s not the run-of-the-mill young-earth stuff!).

Leave a Reply

