Call for Resources

I have decided to preach through the book of Jonah at the conclusion of this semester (and before I start summer sessions). Here’s where I need your suggestions–resources! I have plenty in the way of lexical and grammatical resources, but not in the way of commentaries and other resources. I don’t only want suggestions for commentaries, but any other volumes specific to the book of Jonah that are helpful in understanding the book.

What volumes do you suggest?

The criteria are:

  1. Must be written by a notable OT scholar (would anyone else attempt such a feat?)
  2. Must be accessible, i.e. I don’t want to waste time reading rabbit chases cased in technical jargon!
  3. Must be affordable. I have a wife, four kids, and a summer and fall’s worth of tuition to pay for, so I have to be judicious in my selections!

That’s not asking too much, is it?😉

I plan to start the series on Sunday, May 2, which means I’ll begin preparing the previous Monday. I have several OT introductions and other materials that will be useful in preparing the first sermon (in which I try to set up the background of the letter/account), but I would like to have books in hand by  Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

9 thoughts on “Call for Resources

  1. I had Hebrew Exegesis through Jonah last year and really enjoyed Jack Sasson in the Anchor Bible, Leslie Allen in NICOT, and Stuart Douglas in WBC. I also thought that Philip Peter Jensen had some good thoughts in his Theological Commentary: Obadiah, Jonah, and Micah, which is put out by T&T Clark.

  2. I preached through Jonah on Sunday nights when I first came to Evant. Honestly, I just studied the Hebrew text and used my lexical and grammatical tools. I usually don’t do that for fear that my poor exegesis could lead me astray, but I couldn’t afford to buy a commentary. We exegeted the book in depth in my 3rd semester Hebrew class, so I was already confident. I have a few digital commentaries on Logos such as Keil&Delitzsch and the NAC volume by Frank Page, however, I rarely consulted them. If you have any particular questions about those volumes I could look at them and give you my opinion.

    By the way, anyone with half a brain who has read Psalm 18 and 42 knows that Jonah died in the big fish and was raised from the dead by God when he was vomited on the shore. Just thought you should know that going in… this coming from a guy who hasn’t finished his M.Div. 🙂

  3. Jim, Justin, Craig, Brian: Thank you for your suggestions. I will consider them and hopefully decide this weekend what to purchase.

    Scott: Resources? Resources?? I don’t need no stinkin’ resources! I just want to know what species of whale swallowed Jonah!😛

  4. If you want something a little more focused on the Hebrew of Jonah, try Dennis Tucker’s “Jonah: A Handbook on the Hebrew Text” from Baylor University Press.

Leave a Reply

