Just Curious

I was thinking earlier today, “If the opportunity were given me to sit down and have a conversation over lunch (or dinner) with any biblical studies scholar, who would it be?”

Don’t ask me why!

My top three right now would be D. A. Carson, G. K. Beale, and John Walton, and if I had to narrow it to just one, I would probably choose Carson. But, it would really be hard for me not to choose Walton!

So, with whom would sit down and converse about biblical studies?

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

19 thoughts on “Just Curious

  1. Nick: I thought that’s who you would choose–good choice!

    Craig: The legend–yes!

    Joel: Interesting. Would it be a discussion of Pauline themes or some other topic?

  2. Fascinating question. And a bit hard to answer, since I’ve actually done this already with several folk I would name right off the bat: Walter Brueggemann, EP Sanders, Richard Hays.

    If the scholar need not be alive (which the Metzger suggestion above seems to intimate), I would probably pick Gerhard von Rad. He was a pastor and a tremendous OT scholar; I still take very much from his OT theology. Ooooo, and Brevard Childs. Childs just may edge out von Rad.

    If I had to pick a living scholar, I would pick Brueggemann, of course, but if it were to be someone I have not yet sat down and talked wtih I would probably pick . . . . Terry Fretheim.

  3. John: Good to hear from, ol’ chum! What’s Baylor doing to you that you can’t blog and comment these days?😉

    You mention some good names. Of them, I would also probably choose Childs. Though I’ve not read a lot of his work, what I have read was quite good.

    Hope all’s well in your world!

  4. Jason:

    Indeed, it’s good to be able to read and comment. I’ve poured myself into my dissertation these last few months. I will be posting about it probably by the end of this coming week (April 9).

  5. I had the opportunity to take George Nickelsburg out to breakfast last fall and pick his mind for a few hours… Nickelsburg! On top of that I got the chance a few months later to spend Shabbat with Hanan Eshel and pick his brain.

    I am a lucky man.

    If I am left to choose it would have to be either VanderKam of Boccaccini. Of course, I would buy!

  6. Scott: Nickelsburg–WOW! I have one of his books on my review stack and I am anxious to get to it. I am not familiar with the other gentlemen you mention, but I am not versed in Judaic studies as you are. I am sure, however, that they are first-rate!

  7. Gabrielle Boccaccini is a seminal scholar in the vein of Daniel Boyarin and Alan Segal, helping to refine how one views the first century (actually, for GB, 3rd century BCE-2nd century CE), a period he calls “Middle Judaism,” arguing that Judaism is the genus and then there are various species, of which Jewish Christianity and Rabbinic Judaism are two. The implications are that the separation between the two needs to be understood in different terms; both arise out of (and are the only two to survive) the events of 70 CE.

    Of course, he has done much more than this, but that is what I am particularly acquainted with.

Leave a Reply

