New Books

I had some time between class and a meeting today, so I made my first trip to the DTS bookstore. I must say that this is one of the nicer bookstores I’ve been to. Though a little crowded, it’s a beautiful store. But no one goes to a bookstore to admire the architecture, so I began to peruse the books. The problem with seminary bookstores is there is not enough money in my bank account to purchase everything I would like to own! In light of that, I have to be judicious in my spending.

Like a kid in a candy store or a woman in a shoe store, I had a hard time trying to decide what to purchase (I couldn’t leave without something!). There was one thing that helped me narrow my choices, though—SALE! This particular sale was on Hendrickson and Baker books, which were being sold for 40% off the retail price, so I began to scan the titles. There were at least 15-20 titles I wanted, but ultimately decided to purchase at least one volume that would be of use in my doctoral work.

That volume was the SBL Handbook of Style. I have a pdf of it, but given my dislike for digital reading, I purchased this one to have on hand.

The second volume I purchased is not immediately related to my studies (though it could be at some point). It is Stephen H. Travis’ Christ and the Judgment of God: The Limits of Divine Retribution in New Testament Thought. This title caught my attention a few months ago and I hope to at least peruse some of the opening pages sooner than later. The book begins with the following statement:

“The notion of divine judgement has never been particularly popular, except perhaps among those who were convinced that they, at least, were exempt from its terrors.”

How true indeed!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

Leave a Reply

