One Bad Pepper

One of my favorite shows of late is Man vs. Food on the Travel Channel. Host Adam Richman travels all over the country to take on various food challenges. Of all the ones we’ve seen, my favorite challenges are those that involve having to eat incredibly hot foods. Most of these challenges involve habanero peppers–devilish little orange fireballs (the sauce on my atomic wings is habanero-based).

From watching the show, I have come to know of an even more fierce and vicious pepper, one that caused Adam to throw in the towel on the “Fire-in-your-hole challenge”–the so-called “ghost chili,” or Bhut Jolokia. All reports are that this is one hellish pepper, far worse than the wretched habanero. I would like to try one someday; well, actually just something with the sauce on it would be enough. But, after watching this video, I don’t know that I’m up to it. While I take no pleasure in the pain and misery of others, self-inflicted misery such as is in this video is often hilarious! I laughed so hard my stomach was sore! Enjoy!

Boy eats a ghost chili

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

6 thoughts on “One Bad Pepper

  1. I like spice within reason. Whenever I eat something that’s so hot that it makes it so I can’t actually enjoy the taste then I know the heat is for novelty. When I used to work in this one pizza place I had a customer who would always order his wings and ask for me to make them as hot as I could so I’d spice them up ridiculously. He’d sit there and eat them and I’d ask, “Doesn’t that burn your mouth?” He’d say, “Yeah, you see I’m sweating, but that’s why I like it.” I can’t quite understand that mentality but more power to those who can.

  2. Nick: I love spicy food, but not to the point that I can’t taste the food itself! Spice should be a complement. The wings I had the other day were really good, and even though they were incredibly hot, the flavor of the chicken wasn’t overpowered. However, I would imagine a ghost chili would probably overpower just about anything.

  3. I just watched the video and the kid looks like he’s afflicted by a demon! If I didn’t know how painful a hot pepper could be I’d think that was a lot funnier than I do.

Leave a Reply

