The Blind Dealing with the “Blind”s

As I’ve mentioned recently, we’re packing up and getting ready to move to Texas. Part of our pre-move preparation is repairing and replacing things that need it. I decided to tackle one of these tasks this afternoon–replacing a set of window blinds in the twins’ room.

Let it be know that this is not the first time I’ve done this (you know where this is going, don’t you!). But if you’d been here to see the aggravation that ensued from dealing with this one set of blinds, you would never know I had done this before!

There were a number of things that all worked in tandem against me. First of all, I thought that I could use the brackets from the old set of blinds to hang the new ones–WRONG! The blinds I bought to replace these were said to fit the window size, but they were about 1/2 an inch too short to reach on either side, so the blinds would easily come crashing down if you tried to raise or lower them. In addition, the old brackets had to be removed and new ones installed closer together to compensate for the half-inch decrease. So instead of being able to use already-installed brackets, I had to attach the new ones to the top of the window inset instead of the side. It was nearly IMPOSSIBLE to turn a screw without scraping my knuckles on the trim!

Second, I hadn’t used my drill in a while, so the battery was not charged. Ok, no big deal–a little elbow grease and a screwdriver should do the trick. WRONG! I think the frame underlying the window must have had a pine knot in it–the screws simply would not go all the way in on one side!

Third, after I mounted the new brackets, I tried to insert the blinds. The brackets were probably less than a centimeter too close together–the blinds would not slide in (and, yes, I measured!!!)! So, after having exerted a ridiculous amount of energy on two stinkin’ screws and numerous scrapes against the window trim (oh, did I mention I am 6″5′ and half-squatted in this window and it’s nearly dark outside?), I had to take the screws out just to move the bracket over that little bit.

Finally, after a couple of hours at it, I finally got the blinds installed. I can’t say that standing back looking at those blinds brought me any satisfaction, other than they were finally in. But thinking about it, there is a lesson to be learned here. I had all the right tools, but tools do not a handyman make! Thinking about it, this could apply to exegesis in general. Just because I have the tools and parts necessary for the job doesn’t mean that I am automatically qualified to be a handyman or carpenter. It’s the proper use of the tools, rightly understanding each part’s proper place and function in a particular task, and placing each part where it belongs that makes one a handyman, carpenter, or exegete. Translation? When approaching the text, we must trudge through the disconnect of time and culture to even begin to understand the Scriptures. I remember this simple statement from a professor in seminary—“Exegesis is hard work.” And so is installing blinds.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

2 thoughts on “The Blind Dealing with the “Blind”s

  1. Nick: I wish I had a dollar for every time someone asked how tall I am! Sadly, I quit playing basketball when I got to high school. I got lazy and rather apathetic towards all things “school.” Looking back, I wish I hadn’t gotten that way. The same goes for baseball.

Leave a Reply

