Inspiring Books

TC recently posted his thoughts on Richard Hays’ The Conversion of the Imagination: Paul as Interpreter of Israel’s Scripture. He stated that it was one that he “must read.” It’s captured his attention such that he’s suspended all other reading to work through this one. I’ve been waiting for that kind of read to come my way. I’ve hoped that in my review reading (which has been good) I would come across such a book; but alas, it evades me yet. I have quite a few promising titles yet to read and I am hoping that I find that one that grabs my attention and doesn’t let it go until the final words are read.

One book that I feel may come close to this is Walter Brueggemann’s An Unsettling God: The Heart of the Hebrew Bible. I’ve read the introductory remarks and I get the sense that Brueggemann will at least hold my attention, maybe even provoke a bit of anticipation to read the next chapters. I also have high hopes for Gordon Fee’s God’s Empowering Presence: The Holy Spirit in the Letters of Paul and Pauline Christology: An Exegetical-Theological Study. It is Gordon Fee, after all!

One other title I think will be engaging is Gregory Stevenson’s Power and Place: Temple and Identity in the Book of Revelation. This is a rather technical work, so it will likely be tough in places, but I anticipate this being a good read.

So, what books have kept you feverishly turning the pages lately?

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

5 thoughts on “Inspiring Books

  1. I bought the book because it looked interesting. I may blog about it, but others are also reviewing it online (Jeremy Thompson, for one). I’ve got several other books that I’m reading for review that I should finish first.

Leave a Reply

