Classical Music

Chuck posted a couple of video clips of performances of pieces composed by Carl Freidrich Abel, which prompted me to think of my favorite classical pieces. Though I mostly listen to harder music (August Burns Red, Becoming the Archetype, As I Lay Dying, etc), l do love and enjoy classical music. Here are some of my all-time favorite pieces.

  • Hungarian Rhapsody no. 2 composed by Franz Lizst, here performed by Josef Bulva. This is probably my favorite piano pieces of all time. I first heard it as a kid and have loved it ever since. This rendition, of those I’ve heard, is by far my favorite.
  • Prelude in C# Minor, “The Bells of Moscow” composed by Sergei Rachmaninoff.
  • Cavalleria rusticana – Intermezzo composed by Pietro Mascagni, here performed by the Evergreen Symphony Orchestra. For a special treat, check out Andrea Bocelli’s performance of Ave Maria sung to this piece.
  • Sheep May Safely Graze composed by Johann Sebastian Bach, here performed by Leon Fleisher.
  • Rhapsody on a Theme by Paganini composed by Sergei Rachmaninoff, here performed by Lang Lang. This piece is quite lovely (it runs some 2o+ minutes), but this is the 18th variation, and has to be one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever composed.
  • Eine kleine Nachtmusik composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.
  • Für Elise composed by Ludwig von Beethoven.

There you have it–enjoy!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

2 thoughts on “Classical Music

  1. Jason,

    I must applaud you for your selection of classical pieces, and thank you for the mention of Rachmaninoff–I had not heard that one. It’s one that would compliment a reading of Edgar Allan Poe quite well. 😉

    On another front, and a bit of shameless advertising, because of your usual bent for ‘harder music’, I was wondering what you think of this:

    http://www.myspace.com/deceptionunderground

    It’s not as hard as the ones you mentioned, but it’s certainly within the ballpark. For the sake of connection, the writer and lead singer for Deception is my brother-in-law.

  2. Carl: Thank you and I’m glad you like the piece by Rachmaninoff (I assume you’re referring to “The Bells of Moscow”). It certainly is a dark-sounding piece. I read somewhere a while back that he wrote it after a close friend died. I don’t know if that’s true, but it would certainly fit the mood, and, would definitely attend a reading of Poe well!

    I checked out the band you linked–not bad. My tastes span the hard music continuum, so though not as heavy as the bands I linked, I still like bands at that degree.

Leave a Reply

