Revival: Day 3

As you might expect, we had another great revival meeting tonight! Our attendance has been uncharacteristically high and I believe most everyone has really benefited from the teachings of Mark’s Gospel. Tonight, Dr. Meyer preached from Mark 9:14-10:45, continuing to unfold the narrative as it revealed the continued partial blindness of the disciples. What’s so striking, aside from the fact that Jesus chose these 12 disciples, is that it’s quite difficult to not put yourself in their place because we tend to make the same mistakes they did. Yet, Jesus taught them and used them as part of the founding of his church. The essence, then, of the message tonight was that being a disciple is sacrificial life, one that lives for the glory and honor of Christ and has no concern for the applause and laud of men.

I have heard a lot from the people attending this week and they genuinely seemed to be challenged by the sermons. I have enjoyed these messages as much as any I have heard lately (like Thomas Schreiner’s series on Revelation) not only because the word rightly handled serves to confront our errant theologies and reorient us to Christ, but also because I have newfound appreciation for the Gospel of Mark. Most of the discussion of Mark, at least that I’ve been aware of, has circled around the question of its role in the composition of the other synoptics. As you may know, source criticism and all the attention given to Q is well beyond my interests. This week’s messages, among other things, has given me the panoramic view of the Gospel as Mark saw it, and it’s been wholly fascinating! I may just have to give more attention to it!

We conclude revival tomorrow night, and I anxiously await to see how Dr. Meyer will conclude his series.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

3 thoughts on “Revival: Day 3

  1. I wish I could be there so badly! I know that Dr. Meyer is doing an excellent job. I have often said that he is one of the best preachers I have ever heard… I know he wouldn’t like me to say that because it sounds like I am praising him, but I mean that God has unusually gifted him to preach the Gospel.

    Jason, I will be praying for Pisgah tonight. I know that the potential for revival there is tremendous. I love my brothers and sisters in Christ there and just want to see them draw closer to the Savior.

  2. By the way, I heard Dr. Meyer preach through the Gospel of Mark one semester at Louisiana College. I still remember his sermon on the Thursday before Easter on the crucifixion on Jesus. That is bar none the most powerful sermon I have ever heard preached. It changed my life. It takes tremendous preparation and experience to be able to preach through such large portions of Scripture. I didn’t even think it was possible until I heard Dr. Meyer preach through Mark.

  3. Brian: I would agree that Dr. Meyer is one of the better preachers I’ve heard. His knowledge of Scripture is matched by his love for God and humility as his servant, which makes him quite a messenger! I think that tonight he will preach on the passion of Jesus and I can’t wait to hear it!

    We were talking the other day about his preaching style and I thought the same thing you did. To preach as he does requires a tremendous amount of preparation and mastery of the content. I was impressed that not only did he preach this way with no notes (only his UBS4), but he knew the OT references and allusions in Mark’s Gospel. As I mentioned in the post, I have a new-found appreciation and interest in Mark.

    Thank you, also, for you prayers!

Leave a Reply

