Top 10 Get-Pumped Songs

Everyone (well, probably most everyone) knows and loves those songs that get the adrenaline pumping. You know the ones that prompt you to get out your air guitar/drums/whatever instrument and jam right along as if you composed the music! This post was inspired by Bryan L’s thoughts a few days ago on the song Toxicity by System of a Down, which had/has this effect on him.

Here are 10 songs that get me pumped up, in no particular order.

  1. Bloodwork by Living Sacrifice
  2. Welcome to the Jungle by Guns-N-Roses
  3. The End of Heartache by Killswitch Engage
  4. Composure by August Burns Red
  5. Panic Attack by Dream Theater
  6. Have Patience by Coalesce
  7. Sane by Meshuggah
  8. Meddler by August Burns Red
  9. Sorrow is a Sage by Strongarm
  10. Dead Signal by Training for Utopia

There are many others, but these are the ones that immediately came to mind.

What songs get you pumped?

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Get-Pumped Songs

  1. Hmm… a bunch of songs from Mobb Deep like “Survival of the Fittest,” “Shook Ones, Pt. 2,” “Q. U. Hectic,” and “Drop a Gem On ‘Em” to name a few. Two songs from Big Pun jump out immediately: “Beware,” and “The Dream Shatterer.” “It Ain’t Hard to Tell” by Nas. “Time 4 Sum Aksion” by Redman and “The Rockwilder” by Redman and Methodman. “Bring Da Ruckus,” “Da Mystery of Chessboxin’,” and “Protect Ya Neck” by Wu-Tang Clan. I’m sure I could rattle off dozens more but these are the ones that came to mind first.

  2. Nick: Probably no surprise to you, but I don’t think I’ve heard of any of these! What little rap I listened to many years ago was Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Cypress Hill, whatever caught my ear.

  3. Jason: I listen(ed) to all them too. If I had to pick songs from just those artists you mentioned then I’d choose: “Insane in the Brain” and “How I Could Just Kill a Man” by Cypress Hill. “Pump Pump” and “Lay Low” by Snoop Dogg. And finally “F*** Wit Dre Day,” “Still D.R.E.,” “The Next Episode,” and about a dozen or so other songs from Dr. Dre.

  4. I tried to do a list but I ended up with 26 artists with multiple songs for most of them. It’s too hard for me to pick. Music gets me too hyped up.

    I used to listen to a lot of Living Sacrifice. I saw them live in Houston before they broke up. It was a great show. I loved it at the beginning when Bruce Fitzga (sp?), just right before the started rocking out, said into the mic “Worship with Us”. Great show.

    Bryan L

  5. Nick: I haven’t listened to those guys in many years. A lot of the stuff by Dre and Snoop was popular in my high school (as with most probably). Those jams were infectious–too bad the content was so terrible!

    Bryan: I know what you mean. I could make several more lists easily! I saw LS in Dallas years ago. They were in the midst of lineup changes, so the show I saw they were not at their best. They still rocked pretty hard, though, and I’ve seen videos of Bruce Fitzhugh inviting the crowd to worship! My friend and I would spend a lot of weekends in D/FW for concerts. Have you ever heard of God’s House International?

Leave a Reply

