Hebrew Vocabulary

One of the things necessary to mastering a language is to learn the vocabulary (obviously!). In my recent endeavors to strengthen my Hebrew skills to their former glory, I began reviewing vocabulary. I did this primarily through translating and reading from the Hebrew Bible, which has been a slow and arduous task. I also employed flash cards, specifically the Master Set of Bible Flash Cards from EKS Publishing. This particular set is keyed for use with their The First Hebrew Primer, 3d ed. There are 335 words in this set, which represent the words in the HB that appear at least 200 times, many of them occurring more than 500 times. Clearly I will need to master these and the words that occur less frequently, but I was pleased with the amount of vocabulary I have retained since my days in seminary. I would guess I knew approximately 85% of these 335 words. I still have a long way to go, but I was pleased to have remembered this much!

שָׁלוֹם,

Jason

3 thoughts on “Hebrew Vocabulary

Leave a Reply

