Just Arrived: Mosaic NLT

My copy of the Mosaic NLT actually arrived Saturday, but I haven’t had much time to post about it (I know you’re weekend just wasn’t the same!). However, my initial impression of it is very good. The aesthetics are very appealing, unique features are very interesting, and the translation itself it great. In fact, I preached from this bible in my evening series in Hebrews. I was a little hesitant because the NLT’s wording is quite a bit different than what I am used to, but it turned out just fine. So, I may do this up to the time I post my review for the blog tour (Nov. 2!) so that I will have ample use of it to form my opinion. More about the blog tour and contest later.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

6 thoughts on “Just Arrived: Mosaic NLT

  1. I like it but I wish it were smaller. I had my hopes up thinking it would be slim enough to carry around because my NLT (1st ed.) only has the NT with Psalms & Proverbs so that’s no good if we’re reading from the OT, and my NLT (2nd ed.) is the massive NLT Study Bible. This one is not much smaller than that! Beautiful Bible though.

  2. Nick: The one thing I don’t like about it is the type–it’s too small! I don’t need XL print or anything, but I don’t like to get too close to the page! Otherwise, I think it’s a great work.

  3. I’m holding out until I see the new slimline Reference Bibles – same text layout as Mosaic, but a bit larger since it doesn’t have the Mosaic icons in the margins. I’m really hoping that Tyndale will decide to publish the Mosaic-specific content as a standalone piece for use with other NLTs or (gasp) other translations.

  4. ElShaddai: I, too, prefer slimlines when it comes to preaching. For study, I have come to enjoy the larger hardcovers. As I mentioned to Nick, the type is a bit small for me, but overall I like it.

Leave a Reply

