Top 3 Bible Movies Meme

So I was tagged by Matt in his meme to name my Top 3 Bible Movies. I love movies, but I must admit I’ve not seen many Bible movies, for one reason or another. There are several I’ve wanted to see in recent years (The Gospel of John, Luther, One Night with the King), but I just haven’t watched them. But, in the spirit of meme-ing (is that a word?), I’ll gladly mention three Bible movies I like.

In no particular order:

The Ten Commandments (1956)

Starring Charlton Heston and Yul Brynner

Heston as Moses–do I really need to say more? This movie is a classic and is one I remember from my childhood. Regardless of your view on the historicity of the Exodus, it remains as one of the most memorable stories in Scripture, perhaps in all of ancient literature, and this portrayal is a classic.

The Prince of Egypt (1998)

Starring Val Kilmer (Moses) and Ralph Fiennes (Rameses)

Ok, no snickering or eye-rolling! I saw this movie with group of kids from our home church when it first came out and I thought it was a good adaptation of the Exodus account. I am sure there were liberties taken and interpretations that may have been questionable, but it was an enjoyable film, even though it was animated. One of the most enjoyable aspects of this movie for me was the soundtrack, which can make or break a movie. This was one was great–I still listen to the song “Deliver Us” often! * Listen/watch here and here (the Hebrew version).

The Passion of the Christ (2004)

Despite what you may think of Mel Gibson, the man makes great movies, and The Passion is certainly no exception. The trial and crucifixion of Jesus is, in my opinion, one of the most gripping and wrenching episodes in Scripture. When it came to life on the big screen, I was captivated. It was so refereshing to see such an honest attempt at recreating this most historic event in human history. Sure there were elements that were disagreeable to me (theologically speaking), but the portrayal of Christ’s passion was as stirring as it was graphic. In an age where the savage violence of the cross is whitewashed, it was moving to see and hear such a realistic expression.

As far as what account from Scripture I would like to see made into a high-quality film, I have always wanted to see the account of Elijah and the prophets of Baal translated into a cinematic production. Imagine the crew(s) that worked on/produced the Lord of the Rings trilogy taking on such a story–what a wonderfully terrifying and inspiring work that would be!

I hereby tag Mark, Peter, Brian, Bitsy, and Robert. Have fun!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

3 thoughts on “Top 3 Bible Movies Meme

Leave a Reply

