Books on the Radar

Though my wish lists (both on Amazon and in my brain) continue to grow like kudzu vine, there are a few titles that are at the top of my purchase-sooner-than-later list (in no particular order).

I don’t know that I will be purchasing any of these titles before year’s end, but perhaps I can obtain one or two of them. Donations are always appreciated! 🙂

I have read great things about Carson’s and Bauckham’s books, but I wonder if you have any thoughts on the others listed. I would love to hear your opinions on them.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

3 thoughts on “Books on the Radar

  1. The Collins’ book is worth reading. I don’t agree with a lot of it but it’s interesting nonetheless. J. J. did the first 4 chapters (on the OT) and A. Y. did the last 4 (on the NT). I’m not convinced by their argument that Jesus’ divinity was ‘functional’ rather than ‘ontic’ nor was I persuaded when A. Y. sought to debunk Simon Gathercole’s work in The Preexistent Son. She basically argues that Gathercole excludes evidence that undermines his thesis but it seemed to me that he preemptively addressed her criticisms in his book. She’s of the opinion that Paul and John show some kind of preexistence but that the Synoptics do not. Also problematic is her idea that Jesus did not receive the same kind of worship reserved for God alone. I think her interaction with Hurtado could have been much better there. But like I said, it’s worth reading.

    I’ve heard generally good things about Helyer’s book and nothing but the highest praise for Evans’. That’s a reference that I desperately need to add to my library. And yes, both Bauckham’s and Carson’s books are good.

  2. Nick: Thanks for your thoughts. I almost added the Collins’ book to my Amazon order, but alas, I went with Bauckham! I am trying to beef up my readings on sources, so I may go with Helyer and Evans sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

