Sermon Series: Hebrews

I’ve mentioned in a number of comments how my study/prepartion for preaching through 1 Corinthians has been quite informative pastorally. In our evening service I have recently begun a series in the book of Hebrews, and, I must say that it has been a laborious, but rewarding, task.

If you’re familiar with Hebrews, even just the English translation of it, you knowt that it can be a diffiicult book to understand at times. I’ve just spent several weeks working through chapter 1, a most fascinating chapter to be sure. It seems odd for me to think of anyone in the church to have an overly-high view and fascination with angels (I don’t believe the audience of the epistle were to the point of angel worship), but one must always ask: “Why did the author feel it necessary to include this?” This is especially true considering Jesus’ superiority over the angels occupies most of chapter 1.

Hebrews 1 is not terribly difficult grammatically (there are a few tough spots), but what is somewhat challenging is working through the numerous OT references. I was convinced of the full deity of Christ many years ago, but studying this chapter has reaffirmed this essential truth to our faith.

I am referring primarily to the following c0mmentaries in my study:

I may post some comments or questions as I continue through the text, time permitting.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

5 thoughts on “Sermon Series: Hebrews

  1. Robert: Yes, it is a very rewarding study and certainly requires an investment of time. I am currently trying to figure out our audio recording capabilities, so if I figure it out I may post something.

Leave a Reply

