Bible Reading

I have taken up a task that I set about to start some time ago, but for various reasons, did not start in earnest: reading through the Bible in the original languages. Though I have exegeted many passages from both testaments, I want to focus on reading through the text, vocalizing aloud as I go through in hopes of retaining more of the text in my memory. I am under no delusion that this will be an easy task, but I think it will be very rewarding.

The tools I will use in this endeavor are:

A Reader’s Greek New Testament: 2nd Edition by Richard J. Goodrich and Albert L. Lukaszewski

Complete Vocabulary Guide to the Greek New Testament by Warren C. Trenchard

A Reader’s Hebrew Bible by Philip A. Brown,  II  and Bryan W. Smith

Vocabulary Guide to Biblical Hebrew by Miles V. Van Pelt and Gary D. Pratico

I am much more nimble working through the Greek and have long needed to shore up my Hebrew, so hopefully I will accomplish this, as least as much as such an exercise could do so.

Has anyone else taken up this task?

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

15 thoughts on “Bible Reading

  1. I might try to follow in the Hebrew if you set up a reading plan. Greek is evil though, and I’d never be able to keep up!

  2. Mark: Good to know your son is so gifted as to know such an important tool for his dad to have! 😉

    Kisanri: I thought about mapping out my readings, but I figured I would just start with Matthew. I read chapter one last night and it only took a few minutes. Of course, the genealogy occupies most of that, so it was relatively easy reading.

    Andrew: Same as with my NT readings, I started in at the beginning. I thought about mapping a plan from easier to more difficult readings, but, again, I just started at the beginning. I got a good idea of how weak my Hebrew is–it took me just as long to read the first nine verses of Genesis 1 as it did all of Matthew 1! I think it would be cool to have others read along and I am open to any course you might have in mind. I am really going to try and stick with this–I tend to not finish these kinds of exercises!

  3. Good for you! I have yet to tackle Hebrew but do have enough Greek to work there a bit. There is a web site that breaks the NT Greek into daily readings. I enjoy using it, and although it is my habit to read the English Bible through each year, I have yet to have the time to do the Greek. The web site is: http://www.misselbroook.org.uk/

  4. I’d suggest using audio recordings to make sure you don’t get bogged down in translating the words in your head.

    I’ve got a link to free audio recordings of the Hebrew Bible here (down toward the bottom) – http://www.freeoldtestamentaudio.com/OldTestamentHebrewAudio/FreeOldTestamentHebrewAudio.html

    Greek … I don’t know. Not my gig, but you might find some free recordings. But, I used this – http://www.amazon.com/Koine-Greek-Testament-Spiros-Zodhiates/dp/0899571492/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1251214186&sr=1-3

  5. Iris: Thanks for the link! I have a reading plan that Dan Wallace arranged that has you read from easier to more-difficult sections, but, as I mentioned, I will probably just read straight through. Hebrew is a bit tougher (in my opinion) to learn, but well worth the effort! It’s ironic that when I started seminary, I preferred Hebrew over Greek!

    Jeremy: Thanks for the OT link–I bookmarked it for future reference. Looks like you have been busy–how long have you been in doctoral studies?

    1. Forever … No, just kidding. I was doing full-time school until it became imperative that I take a full-time job. I’ve been at the doctoral degree for 4 years. I’m trying to push through. I’m on editing now, but it is slow going. I thought the summer would help, but that was just me being stupid.

    1. Yes, dissertation editing. Actually, I’m not abroad. I’m in Hammond, LA. I’m doing doctoral work through the University of Stellenbosch in South Africa. It is a European type system, so it is dissertation only. I have not had to travel abroad. My supervisor is Prof. Christo van der Merwe. He comes over once a year for SBL, and we meet then. Otherwise we communicate via e-mail. This year he is coming and is going to stay with us after the conference for a couple of days.

    1. I hope to finish by November, so I can hand my professor a finished draft. But, the more likely answer is forever … Kidding again. Not sure why I’m so negative.
      All the best to you.

    1. Full-length Greek Grammar. The abridged keeps referencing the larger work on too many important discussions.

      I tend to use grammars to see how a particular genitive and so on, are treated. I’ve found it to be a fruitful practice.

Leave a Reply

