Back in the saddle…somewhat

For those who pop in to read what I have to say have probably noticed I have been somewhat absent in the last week, save for a few comments on your blogs and one post on mine. It’s been a tough week. I have been battling MRSA infection–if you’ve dealt with it, you know how awful it can be; if not, pray you don’t have to EVER! Given the way it has manifest itself this time, sitting and standing have been nearly intolerable. I could only get relief from the pain by lying down. With no wireless internet here at home, I can’t surf the net from my laptop. Again, sitting was incredibly uncomfortable, often painful, so doing anything on the computer was short lived.

In addition, I’ve had flu-like symptoms for several days–cold chills during the day (it’s summer in Louisiana for Pete’s sake!), profuse sweating at night, feverish, sore throat, and just plain feeling like crap. So much so, I went to bed every night this week by 9 or 10, which is unlike me in every way. Consequently, I’ve done no review reading, very little blog reading/commenting, and no tv. It’s been a LONG week!

Last night was the first night all week that I went to bed without feeling feverish and cold, so I knew I was over the worst of it. Plus, I am here writing this now-too-long post, so that’s a good thing. I hope to get back to posting next week–got a busy weekend ahead. Instead of reading last night, I grabbed my phone and earbuds, loaded Metallica’s Black album, and laid back and let them sing me to sleep!

I don’t say all of this for pity’s sake, but just because I tend to give more details than necessary. I could have said, “I have been sick this week” and that would have been sufficient. But we’re all curious sorts, so I figured it wouldn’t hurt anything to divulge more info.

Thanks to all who didn’t remove me from their blogroll–I appreciate it!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

12 thoughts on “Back in the saddle…somewhat

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling a little better but now that I know you’ve not been well I’ll definitely be praying! Drop an email or something next time and I’ll get right on it! And don’t worry, the blogosphere isn’t going anywhere, take the time you need to get better! We’ll pick up the slack for you. 🙂

  2. Oh man, sorry to hear about that. It’s been a difficult week for both of us. I’ve never even heard of what you have so now I know to pray to never get it. I’m glad you’re getting better. It’s so good when you feel you’re over the hump. Take your time.
    Jeff

  3. Jeff: I think that if there were 11 plagues rained down upon Egypt, MRSA would have been it! Yes, the worst is behind me now, so time to get back to normal!

    Bitsy: Thank you!

    TC: You are indeed merciful! 😉

    Matthew: Yes, a rough week, but things are much better today!

    Joel: Another merciful friend! How’s the book?

  4. Brian: Yes, it can be, and our second twin has been hospitalized twice with it. Thankfully, it’s not been any worse.

    Andrew: Thanks; me, too! 😉

Leave a Reply

