The Canon

I’m not terribly bashful when it comes to asking for suggested reading on any given topic. So here’s what I would like suggestions on: the canon. That’s vague enough, eh? Specifically, I would like to know what books you have read that have informed your understanding of the formation of the biblical canon and that you would recommend. I’ve done some reading on the issue, but like many other aspects of biblical and theological studies, I haven’t really done enough to be satisfied.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

5 thoughts on “The Canon

  1. Sanders and McDonald (eds). The Canon Debate, published by Hendrickson (2002, I think).

    Childs, kinda sorta.

    Emmanuel Tov’s Textual Criticism of the Hebrew Bible will be helpful in adjudicating some questions that may arise.

  2. Nick: Thanks for the link. I can always depend on you for good reading suggestions!

    John: Thanks for the suggestions. I’ve read some of Childs’ works, but not the other two, though I am familiar with them.

Leave a Reply

