Rapture, millennium, tribulation

I’ve been trying to find a place to make a permanent dwelling within the various camps on these issues, at least as permanent as future research and contemplation will allow. Not that one’s beliefs on these issues are overly important, but I like to be settled, at least to some degree. I’m interested in where you stand on these issues (remember: if you don’t get the right combo, you won’t go to heaven!).

My thoughts currently place me in the following:

  • Rapture: post-tribulation
  • Millennium: historic premill.
  • Tribulation: the church will go through the great tribulation

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

12 thoughts on “Rapture, millennium, tribulation

  1. Jason: If I cared enough about the subject to get back into studying it then I could possibly be persuaded otherwise. To date I’ve not heard convincing arguments against my position, but then again, I haven’t sought them out in quite some time.

  2. Nick: I understand. It’s not a big deal for me either; just a topic I was curious about concerning others’ positions. I am interested to read Blomberg and Chung’s (eds) A Case for Historic Premillennialism: An Alternative to “Left Behind” Eschatology, but other than that, I’ll just confer with Scripture.

  3. Rapture: pre-trib (perhaps pre-wrath)
    Millennium: premil
    Tribulation: the church will not go through it

    I tend to avoid any hard research on the topics. I want to wait until I have a more comprehensive understanding of other key passages and of my own hermeneutics before tackling these issues.

  4. Andrew: My own views are rather recent and could still change. Being a minor issue, I don’t mind making changes that are based on good research. It would take an act of God and Congress for me to change on the more important doctrines!

  5. Rapture: Maybe.If so,before the wrath of the lamb is poured out on apostates and the armies that gather against him and his church…

    Millennium: A-mill…

    Tribulation: The church will go through unprecedented tribulation,before Jesus comes…

  6. Rapture: definitely post-trib (Was pre-trib for a few years)

    Tribulation: The Church will go through any future tribulation just as it has been for the last 2000 years. However, I am unsure if there is a future 7-year trib, a future 3.5 year trib, or if the trib is the time between the Ascension and 2nd Coming of Christ.

    Millenium: premill (somewhat open to amill)

  7. Kevin: I, too, was pre-trib for most of the years that I had an opinion on the matter. Currently, I believe the great tribulation will be the climactic persecution of the church immediately preceding the rapture. I believe we are living in the last days and have been since Jesus’ resurrection. Of course, this is a non-essential, so I don’t feel too much pressure about nailing down all of the particulars.

Leave a Reply

