Do children go to heaven when they die?

Danny Akin has posted an interesting essay at Between the Times concerning the afterlife of children who die before making a profession of faith in Christ. He cites a few passages that I have heard many times offered in defense of children entering God’s presence upon death, but he cites others I had not considered before. It’s a short essay so go check it out.

If you’re curious, yes, I believe children who die go to be with the Lord if they were not capable of grapsing the concepts of sin, salvation, etc, thus never making a confession of faith in Christ as Lord.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

6 thoughts on “Do children go to heaven when they die?

  1. I also believe that children who die go to heaven. One of the verses that always stood out to me was Matthew 18:10:

    “Beware that you don’t look down on any of these little ones. For I tell you that in heaven their angels are always in the presence of my heavenly Father.”

    I figured that if children had angels in heaven then that had to be some indication that they’d be going there if they died.

    Interestingly, a couple of the verses they cited argue against original sin yet they affirm original sin in the article.

    1. Which verses are your referring to? I read the article, but didn’t notice that. I didn’t look up the ones I didn’t know right away, so I may have missed them there.

  2. The Canons of Dordtrecht (I/17) teach:

    Since we must make judgments about God’s will from his Word, which testifies that the children of believers are holy, not by nature but by virtue of the gracious covenant in which they together with their parents are included, godly parents ought not to doubt the election and salvation of their children whom God calls out of this life in infancy.

Leave a Reply

