Just Arrived

There’s usually only one reason the mail carrier pulls under the carport–yes, because boxes filled with books don’t fit in the mailbox!

I received several volumes from the kind folks at Augsburg Fortress.

Early Judaism: Text and Documents on Faith and Piety, Revised Edition by George W. E. Nickelsburg and Michael E. Stone

An Unsettling God: The Heart of the Hebrew Bible by Walter Brueggemann

Encounter with the New Testament: An Interdisciplinary Approach by Russell Pregeant

As it happens, I received an extra copy of Preagant’s book, which lead me to question, “What shall I do with this extra copy?” I guess I could send it back to the publisher, but I am considering a book giveaway. What would you do?

I’ll let you know what I decide.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

11 thoughts on “Just Arrived

  1. TC: I am leaning in that direction! That would bring some traffic through the ol’ blog! I must admit that I’d pretty much given up on Fortress. I requested those books back in early June! I am anxious about reading Brueggemann, though it’s currently at the bottom of the review stack.

    Andrew: I’ll consider your suggestion!

  2. Jason: Never give up! Some folks take a long time to get back to you. Also, with Fortress Press some of their stuff is print-on-demand so it might take a while to come. And I’d probably do a giveaway.

  3. Give it away…to me.

    Augsburg Fortress just got a review copy of a book to me today as well. I asked for it back in mid-June, so perhaps they send out their review books at certain times throughout the year. Who knows?

  4. TC: I may, but I’ve got to longer books to finish (Revelation in the NT Library and NT Theology by Matera) for review. Once I get them finished, the only long one left is the NT intro (The Cradle, the Cross, and the Crown). Maybe after that one!

    Peter: I’m beginning to be persuaded!

    Matt: Hmmm…Maybe I could put it up on PaperBack Swap?😉 You may be right about the review book shipping thing. Nick stated above that some of their stuff is print-on-demand, so perhaps that’s why.

  5. Jason and Matt, Sorry about the delay in getting copies to you. A technical glitch in our mail server left your and several other requests hanging in suspended animation for a couple of weeks. Normally requests are shipped within a few business days of receipt of a request. It’s good to know they’ve arrived. We’ve resolved the issue and are on our normal schedule again.

    Mark C. Christianson
    Author Relations/ Publicity
    Augsburg Fortress

    1. No problem, Mark. Like Matt, I was surprised to see the books arrive. Thanks for the copies and I will post reviews as soon as I finish the books.

Leave a Reply

