Why I decided to start a blog

When I decided to create a blog a couple of months ago, I did so for the pupose of interaction specifically with other biblical studies students (not necessarily only seminarians). I have since discovered, however, that blogging is much more interesting when there is a variety of subjects being discussed (I am thinking of two of my favorite blogs: Rightly Dividing the Word of Truth and Scotteriology).

I have also found that the sheer number of biblio-blogs provide so many potential discussion topics that it is virtually impossible to interact with them all (my reader subscription list is multiplying like a wet mogwai!). I discovered that reading through the many comments is also very fruitful.

Perhaps the most beneficial aspect of my recent venture into the blogosphere (aside from new friendships) is the opportunity to interact with people from other faith traditions. As a pastor, I find that I tend to seclude myself from people with differing viewpoints, except for the occasional dialogue with a lost person or doctrinal discussion with other church members. The demands of sermon prep and congregational affairs consume most of my time (not to mention my four kids!). I live in a rural community, so the likelihood of encountering Christians of other denominations is small. So I enjoy the dialogue with others.

Anyway, this post has turned out to be much longer than I anticipated.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

4 thoughts on “Why I decided to start a blog

  1. You gotta love Gremlins references! I started blogging as a way to vent after chat room ‘debates.’ I’d have much more to say past the conversations I was having so blogging was a way to get it out. Since moving to WP so long ago I realized how great and fruitful many of the conversations were and now I’d say that I blog primarily for the interaction with others, since most of my ‘real life’ friends aren’t interested in the things I’m interested in.

  2. Yeah, I’ll have to find ways to incorporate more references from Gremlins! I think we’re in the same boat, at least somewhat. Since becoming a pastor I have found it hard to develop really good friendships. I am certainly friends with my congregation, but the age and interests gap makes it hard to develop deeper friendships. It’s a rural community and I prefer city life, so that’s a challenge sometimes.

  3. I concur with Nick about the interaction part. My wife’s eyes would glaze over and my children would run screaming! This allows me to (re)define my faith and to gain insight, even from those which I disagree.

    1. I dearly miss the interaction I had in seminary. Our youth minister and I used to talk at length about theology, ministry, etc. But since he took a pastorate, there is virtually no one with whom to dialog. Hence the blog!

Leave a Reply

