Unwanted books

Question: What do you do with books that you don’t want, but may not necessarily want others to feast upon their contents?

I have a handful of books I received by John Hagee, Tim LaHaye, and others that I just don’t want. I don’t plan to read them (partially because I disagree with the premise and/or theology or I just find them uninteresting), but I don’t know that I want to unload them for someone else to read.

Any suggestions?

PS–I’m not in to book burning!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

9 thoughts on “Unwanted books

  1. I put them in a box and leave them to sit. Or I run giveaway contests on my blog because anyone who reads my blog can likely handle all the stuff that I hate about any given book. Which books in particular are you looking to not burn?

  2. There are also dumpsters or the recycling bin. I put trashy books received in the recycling all the time and they’ve always been carted off.

    Now having said that, those authors are VERY popular and someone is going buy them and read them in spite of any efforts to keep these out of the public’s hands, so you might as well just give them away or try to sell them on half.com.

    And you could have that book give-away Nick suggested. You might get a different kind of reader drawn in with a Hagee up for grabs 😉

  3. You don’t want to give them to others to read but you don’t want to destroy them? How many do you have?

    I give my unwanted books to my daughter to color in like she sees me doing (highlighting).

    You could unload them at Half Price Books. They might give you a dollar for all of them. Maybe Goodwill. Then you can get a small tax write- off or something and they can make money to help the poor by selling them to someone else. Maybe Ebay for really cheap.

    Bryan L

  4. Nick: One book is The Battle for Jerusalem by John Hagee (and several others by him) and some prophecy book by Tim LaHaye. are currently either in a box on a shelf, so there they may stay.

    Bitsy: Half.com may be an option, though I don’t know if it’s worth the trouble to ship them!

    Bryan: Thanks for the suggestion, but I would hate to teach my daughter such a bad habit! 😉 Goodwill may be a good choice–I’m all about tax deductions!

  5. I forgot about Paperback book swap. Books don’t have to be paperback. I’ve sent and received hardbacks.

    You list the first ten books and get two credits you can use to ask for books from others. For every book you send off, you get another credit you use to request a book you want. I’ve sent off books that I’d never read myself. Books I thought I could sell on half and then found out they were only worth 75 cents (and there were 3 million of them) have been requested. Then I get to request books in return. The books do have to be in decent shape with no writing. Everything is sent media mail.

    Just a thought.

  6. In this case an exception should be made to book burning. Consigning trash theology to the flames is the best possible use of the wood wasted on them. Have a wienie roast; sing Kumba Ya. That should at least justify the flames.

    1. John,

      I agree in principle–the worst of theology should be committed to the flames (that sounds awfully Humean!). But maybe I can find a good use for these books!

Leave a Reply

