New Review Books

I received five books today for review.

Courtesy of Westminster John Knox Press:

Old Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors, 4th ed. by Douglas Stuart

Revelation: A Commentary by Brian K. Blount (New Testament Library)

Philippians and Philemon: A Commentary by Charles B. Cousar (New Testament Library)

New Testament Theology: Exploring Unity and Diversity by Frank J. Matera

Courtesy of Zondervan:

The Mormon Mirage: A Former Member Looks at the Mormon Church Today by Latayne C. Scott

Look for reviews in the next few weeks.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

7 thoughts on “New Review Books

  1. Fantastic!

    On a completely different subject; have you ever considered moving this blog to WordPress? It really is a much better blogging format. I rarely comment on Blogspot blogs because of all the hoops I have to jump through to do so, but I comment on WP blogs all the time because it's so easy. The only thing that Blogspot has that WP doesn't is a lot of flexibility with the widgets, but you clearly don't use a lot of widgets and pretty much everything I see on your sidebar can be done in WP. Think about it. 🙂

  2. Nick,

    Thanks for the suggestion. Strangely enough, I have considered either moving this blog to wordpress or creating a new one there and using this blog mainly for book reviews and discussions. Since I am new to the blogosphere, I am concerned that the limited traffic I do receive may be lost if I move already. I assume that any visitors could redirected should I move–any thoughts?

    Jason

  3. Jason: I'll tell you what I tell everyone who I try to convert: you'll gain more traffic! WP has a better interconnected community and the fact that commenting is so much easier people will be more likely to stick around and say something. Not to mention that all your current readers will have to do to follow you to WP is cut and paste a single link into their RSS feed reader or blogroll. How difficult is that? And if you make the move I'll be sure to announce it on my blog and try to get you some traffic that way. If you do move to WP (and I suspect you will!) then please let me urge you to publish your reviews there.

  4. Nick,

    Thanks for the support! I have downloaded the latest version of wp. Reading through the documents, it seems a bit of work (to get started at least). But I do like the look and layout of WordPress, so I will give it a shot.

  5. Jason: Hmmm… I'm curious as to what you've downloaded exactly and what documents you're reading. From my experience and pretty much everyone I know who uses WP it's as easy as registering and transferring your material from here to there with the click of a button. Shoot me a link if possible.

  6. Nick,

    I think what I may have downloaded was the template and all of the pages, I guess if you wanted to modify the HTML or scripts. I began to sign up last night, but couldn't decide if I wanted to keep the same name (there is a blog titled "Pen and Parchment") or change it. I would prefer something shorter, so I was trying to think of what I wanted.

  7. Ahh… I just use the free wordpress.com stuff. To modify HTML or CSS you need to pay for it with wordpress.org.

Leave a Reply

