New Books

As the list of books I want to read continues to grow like kudzu, I will put a barely-discernible dent in it by ordering several books that I have wanted to read for some time now. They are:

Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper

Finally Alive by John Piper

This Momentary Marriage: A Parable of Permanence by John Piper

Central Themes in Biblical Theology: Mapping Unity in Diversity edited by Scott Hafemann and Paul House.

So I’m taking a bit of detour from my usual reading of biblical-studies-related works (except for the biblical theology text). I’ve always wanted to read Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life, but I never did for one reason or another. Perhaps listening to Lecrae’s “Don’t Waste Your Life” subconsciously prompted me to finally read it. I have been quite interested in the “process” of salvation recently, so when I saw Piper’s Finally Alive I knew I would have to check it out. My wife and I will be celebrating our 8-year wedding anniversary tomorrow, so I have been thinking about marriage lately. Plus, I critiqued a paper written by a friend of mine on the issue of divorce and remarriage, so I really wanted to read Piper’s This Momentary Marriage. Finally, I wanted a solid book-length treatment of biblical theology. I struggled with which volume to purchase, but ultimately decided on Hafemann and House’s Central Themes in Biblical Theology.

I’m interested to hear any opinions on these books and any suggestions for further reading on the subjects they cover.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

2 thoughts on “New Books

Leave a Reply

