Books

Today I received something quite unexpected–6 boxes filled to the brim with books. As an avid reader, I was quite thrilled to sit down and begin poring over the various titles, making neatly-arranged piles of those to keep and not to keep (needless to say, I kept most of them!).

The collection consisted of a variety of works from different arenas. Included were

The Incredible Power of Kingdom Authority by Adrian Rogers

Confessions by Saint Augustine

The Lost Gospel by Burton L. Mack

A Grief Observed by C. S. Lewis

An Introduction to Biblical Hermeneutics by Walter C. Kaiser and Moisés Silva

The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky

The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William L. Shirer

There were many other volumes that will certainly make for interesting reading and some that will likely be of value for biblical studies. I am writing all of this because this tremendous collection came from a gentleman who has now gone to be with the Lord. He was a member of my father-in-law’s church and his family had given my father-in-law these books, who then gave them to me.

It makes me wonder: what would be done with all of my books should Christ call me home before I expect? Of the material things I “own” (1 Tim. 6:7), my library is right near the top in terms of value, both monetary and sentimental. I have invested a lot of money and time into those volumes and am very grateful that I have a decent library to aid in the study of God’s word. But if something should happen, what would happen to my library? Certainly it would be of no use just sitting upon a shelf collecting dust. I suppose it could be donated to a seminary or bible college, perhaps to a pastor or missionary who could use them. The point of this post, I guess, is that I am grateful to have received these works because they will fulfill their purpose: they will be read. Perhaps not all of them and not all of them all the way through, but they will not sit idle upon the shelf.

Happy reading!

Jason

Leave a Reply

