Resources

Resources

As I mentioned in my last post, I begin research seminars in January and those of you in doctoral work know that the reading is, well, insane. Only one of my two seminars has the reading list included in the syllabus. The OT backgrounds seminar requires plenty of reading, but the works are our own choosing, so I’ll have to think about that before I decided exactly what I want to read. The History of NT Interpretation and Criticism reading list I have and thankfully I already have a couple of the volumes required. However, I’ll still have to acquire the rest. Because my book purchases will be greater than any in the past and my income will be significantly less, I’m going to try and get my books at the lowest price possible. I’ve purchased used books in the past and don’t mind doing so as long as they’re not tattered and/or heavily marked.
All that to say if you own any of the books listed below and would be willing to part with them for a price lower than what I can find on Amazon or elsewhere, I would be glad to buy them from you. Let me know if you’re interested!
Adam, A. K. M. What is Postmodern Biblical Criticism? Guides to Biblical Scholarship: New Testament Series, ed. Dan O. Via Jr. Minneapolis: Fortress, 1995.
Black, David Alan, and David S. Dockery, eds. Interpreting the New Testament: Essays on Methods and Issues, rev. ed. of New Testament Criticism and Interpretation. Nashville: Broadman & Holman, 2001.
Carson, D. A., Peter T. O’Brien, and Mark A. Seifrid, ed. Justification and Variegated Nomism. Vol. 1, The Complexities of Second Temple Judaism. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2001.
Carson, D. A., Peter T. O’Brien, and Mark A. Seifrid, ed. Justification and Variegated Nomism. Vol. 2, The Paradoxes of Paul. Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2004.
Garlington, Don. In Defense of the New Perspective on Paul: Essays and Reviews. Eugene, OR: Wipf & Stock, 2005.
Krentz, Edgar. The Historical-Critical Method. Guides to Biblical Scholarship: New Testament Series, ed. Dan O. Via Jr. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1975.
Neill, Stephen, and Tom Wright. The Interpretation of the New Testament 1861–1986, 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988.
Piper, John. The Future of Justification: A Response to N. T. Wright. Wheaton, IL: Crossway, 2007.
Thompson, Michael B. The New Perspective on Paul. Cambridge: Grove Books, 2002.
Αυτω η δοξα
4 comments

Leave a Reply

