Fall Reading

Thankfully, my fall reading for school is fairly manageable.  Aside from the actual biblical texts I’ll be reading through/exegeting, I’ll have to read only four books all the way through.

Old Testament Theology: Basic Issues in the Current Debate by Gerhard Hasel (less than 300 pages)

Theological Diversity and the Authority of the Old Testament by John Goldingay (239 pages)

Central Themes in Biblical Theology: Mapping Unity in Diversity edited by Scott Hafemann and Paul House (308 pages)

Either The Canonical Hebrew Bible: A Theology of the Old Testament by Rolf Rendtorff or An Unsettling God: The Heart of the Hebrew Bible by Walter Brueggemann.  I will likely go with Brueggemann on this one simply because it’s not nearly as long as Rendtorff’s.  I know that sounds like the easy way out, but I am trying to survive and get everything finished on time!

The Text of the New Testament: Its Transmission, Corruption, and Restoration by Bruce Metzger and Bart Ehrman (I’ve already read this one, but YES, I will read it again!).

Of course, there are plenty of peripheral readings (commentary on passages, chapters from other books, articles, etc) but all in all, I would say this rather light and I should be able to get through everything by semester’s end.

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

7 thoughts on “Fall Reading

  1. Oh come on, I 1239098865 texts at SWBTS that I have to read 3x through this semester, forward and backward… they must be slacking up over there in Dallas!!!

  2. I understand that. My point is you shouldn’t be complaining about having a lot of reading in a Ph.D. program (or rejoicing for having very little). You are on your way to a Ph.D. You must THIRST for wisdom, and read without ceasing. That, of course, is what I do (eyes nervously shooting back and forth).

Leave a Reply

