Halloween

It’s that time of year again! Time to get the kiddies dressed up, out the door, and on their way to tons of teeth-rotting candy! Or, maybe you like to participate in what many churches call “Fall Festival,” a fun and family-oriented alternative to the evil and Satanic holiday that is Halloween.

Halloween is one of many issues toward which many Christians are either indifferent or vehemently opposed. To be honest, I’ve had my questions about Halloween. Having kids old enough to trick or treat made those questions more nagging. In the end, I don’t think it’s wrong to dress up the kids in a costume (though I wouldn’t permit anything that is associated with evil, e. g. vampires, werewolves, etc.) and take them around the neighborhood for candy. Neither do I think ill of those parents who do not wish to do this with their family, and instead, take them to a Fall Festival at a/their local church. It comes down to a matter of conscience for me.

Taking your kids trick-or-treating doesn’t equate to a celebration of any supposed pagan rituals, or worse, glorification of Satan. It’s funny how quickly we Christians like to jump on the hate-Halloween bandwagon, yet won’t take the same fervor and zeal and apply to areas of our lives that are truly in need of repentance.

So what should you do? Decide for yourself! If your church is having a Fall Festival, go and have fun! Fellowship with your congregation. Take your kids trick-or-treating if you want to–you’ll not make them into little pagans or satanists! Either way, be safe and have fun and, if possible, look at Halloween like any other day–an opportunity to share Christ and live for his glory.

Oh, and don’t give Chick tracts to the kiddos!

Here are Nick’s, Matt’s, and Scott’s thoughts on the matter.

PS–I know it’s not Halloween yet, but I’ll be out with the family this weekend, so I’m posting early!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

2 thoughts on “Halloween

  1. As an aside, One thing I don’t like is Christians entertaining themselves with horror movies.

    I think I feel the same way you do about Halloween, but when evil or the occult or minimizing hell is introduced, that’s where I think it’s a bad thing. I think it’s a mixed bag (of candy).
    Jeff

  2. Jeff: Agreed. These kinds of things are always touchy subjects, and they probably should be most of the time. I think that sometimes we tend overreact to some things while not reacting at all to others. That’s nature of it I suppose.

Leave a Reply

