Hebrew Grammar

Yesterday, I received my copy of Duane Garrett’s A Modern Grammar for Classical Hebrew. I have only used a handful of intro grammars for Hebrew (The First Hebrew Primer by Simon, Motzkin and Resnikoff; Biblical Hebrew: Step by Step by Menahem Mansoor; Biblical Hebrew Grammar by Bailey and Strange) and this is my favorite one thus far.

My initial positives of the book are its layout (typeset is not crowded, large pages) and the employment of what Garrett calls “diglot weaves.” These are sentences or clauses that have Hebrew words/phrases inserted into largely English sentences/clauses. They really are helpful for learning the language and especially for brushing up on forgotten vocabulary and verb/noun forms.

For what it’s worth, I recommend this grammar. As I stated here, I would have preferred to have the new edition, but was too impatient to wait for July!

Αυτω η δοξα,

Jason

Leave a Reply

